University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering

Archived News — January 2012

Masson UH Department of Mechanical Engineering Welcomes New Faculty Member
January 24, 2012
The Cullen College of Engineering has welcomed a new faculty member to the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Philippe Masson joins the department as an assistant professor...
Bao Bao Wins NSF CAREER Award to Study Graphene’s Optical Properties
January 24, 2012
Jiming Bao, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, has won a National Science Foundation CAREER Award to study the optical properties of graphene. One of the...
Stein Polymer Solar Cell Research Earns College Third NSF CAREER Award
January 23, 2012
Gila Stein, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, has won a prestigious National Science Foundation CAREER Award, valued at up to $500,000 over five years...
Rodrigues Rodrigues Wins NSF CAREER Award
January 23, 2012
Debora Rodrigues, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering, has won a prestigious CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF). CAREER Awards are...
Isis Mejias with Congressman Ted Poe Ph.D. Candidate Honored for Academic and Philanthropic Achievements
January 19, 2012
Isis Mejias has been busy lately. She received a scholarship from the Rotary Club of Humble Intercontinental, secured a $50,000 grant for Engineers Without Borders – Central...
Mini-ExCEEd Teaching Workshop Cullen College Faculty Enhance Teaching Skills
January 17, 2012
The UH Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering hosted a teaching development event for faculty this month. The Mini-ExCEEd Teaching Workshop, presented by American...
Lee NASA Grant Funds Congo River Basin Research
January 5, 2012
With a surface area of approximately 2.3 million square miles, the Congo River Basin is the second largest river basin in the world, surpassed only by the Amazon. Compared to...
Charles V. Kirkpatrick Charles Kirkpatrick, Cullen College's Second Dean, Passes
January 3, 2012
Charles V. Kirkpatrick, who as dean from 1965-1975 led the UH Cullen College of Engineering through a period of tremendous growth, passed away in December at the age of 95....
Sharma Sharma Named Chair of UH Mechanical Engineering
January 3, 2012
The UH Cullen College of Engineering has named Pradeep Sharma the new chair of its Department of Mechanical Engineering, an appointment effective Jan. 1, 2012. Sharma, who has...