University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering


Photos: Engineering Alumni Association Hosts 2018 Annual Meeting


Inez Hutchinson

The Engineering Alumni Association (EAA) held its annual meeting on Thursday, August 23 at Saint Arnold’s Brewery. This annual event furthers the EAA’s mission of championing, supporting and uniting the Cullen College’s students, faculty and alumni.

Attendees enjoyed craft beer, tacos, and raffle prizes while learning about the latest news and successes at Cullen College. EAA president and mechanical engineering alumnus, Sebastian Hernandez P.E., kicked off the event with opening remarks and announced the new EAA board members. Joseph W. Tedesco, Elizabeth D. Rockwell Dean of the Cullen College, shared updates on the college’s progress towards its goal of being ranked among the Top 50 engineering schools in the nation and Mike Pede (’89) Associate VP for Alumni Relations UHAA, shared details about the alumni association program.

Students from the UH American Institute of Chemical Engineers chapter (AIChE), UH American Institute of Aeronautics (AIAA-UH), UH Society of Automotive Engineers (FSAE), and Engineers without Borders set up displays with information about their current projects and initiatives.

Whose ready for some Cougar football? The EAA will be hosting football tailgates for the fall 2018 UH football season. For tailgating details, click here

Don’t forget to cast your vote for the 2019 EAA Gala award winners! Deadline to cast your vote is November 30!

Please visit for more information and to download this year’s nomination packet.

To learn more about the EAA, click here. To see the photos from the event, click here

2018-2019 Board of Directors

Sebastian Hernandez, P.E. (‘14)

Past President
Leslie Mardis, P.E. (‘10)

President Elect
Wayne Mausbach (‘69)

William Snider II (‘11)

Trevor Moore (‘14)

Board Members
Doug Emery, P.E. (‘85)
Jamie Imhoff (’97, MBA ’06)
Jami Summey-Rice (’17)
Michael Ramos (’00)
Jorge Villalta, P.E. (’07)
Carlos Chiquillo (’04, MBA ’10)

UH Engineering College Board Representatives
Emily Ammons McGovern (’12), Director of Engineering Relations 

UH Student Liaison
Zaman Azhar