University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering

Engineering Alumni Association

Alumni Awards Gala

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

The Engineering Alumni Awards program was established in 1987 to recognize alumni, faculty and friends of the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering and the Engineering Alumni Association for significant contributions to society and the profession. The recipients are honored at the annual engineering alumni awards gala, held each year in June.

2018 Cullen College of Engineering Alumni Awards Gala 

The 2018 Cullen College of Engineering Alumni Awards Gala will be held on Thursday, June 7, 2018. Location and other details will be posted here in the coming months, so please check back soon!

Now Accepting Nominations for 2018 Gala Honorees!

2018 EAA Alumni Awards Nomination is now open. Click here to download the nomination packet for the 2018 EAA Alumni Awards Gala. Nominations can be submitted to Emily McGovern until November 30, 2017:

Emily McGovern (emcgovern [at] uh [dot] edu)
UH Cullen College of Engineering
Engineering Building 2
4722 Calhoun Rd, Suite E421
Houston, TX. 77204-4007

2017 Honorees

Lifetime Achievement Award
Charles A. Beyer (BSCE '72, MSCE '77)
Founder, Beyer Construction LLC
Distinguished Engineering Alumni Awards
The Honorable Joe Zimmerman, P.E. (BSCE '83)
Mayor, City of Sugar Land
David Eastwood, P.E., C.A.P.M. (BSCE '77, MSCE '78)
President, Geotech Engineering and Testing, Inc.
Roger Eichhorn Service Award
Douglas E. Emery, P.E. (BSCE '85)
Senior Engineer, Harris County Toll Road Authority
Abraham E. Dukler Distinguished Engineering Faculty Award
Michael Nikolaou, Ph.D.
Professor, UH Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Entrepreneur/Innovation Award
Yamile Jackson, Ph.D., P.E., PMP (BSIE '91, MSIE '94, Ph.D. IE '00)
CEO and Founder, Nurtured by Design


A Special Thank You to Our 2016 Sponsors!


Jim Culpepper

Lockwood, Andrews & Newman, Inc.

PRD Land Development Services

RPS Klotz


Aurora Technical Services

HR Green
Terrance Ivers  

Mechanical Engineering Department

Civil & Environmental Engineering Department

Industrial Engineering Department

Electrical & Computer Engineering Department

Petroleum Engineering Department

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Department
Michael Ramos Randal Sitton
Cynthia Oliver Coleman Mike Lacy
Mark Loethen