Engineering Alumni Association

Alumni Awards Gala

The Engineering Alumni Awards program was established in 1987 to recognize alumni, faculty and friends of the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering and the Engineering Alumni Association for significant contributions to society and the profession. The recipients are honored at the annual engineering alumni awards gala, held each year in June.

2021 Engineering Alumni Awards Gala

The 2021 Cullen College of Engineering Alumni Awards Gala will be held on Thursday, November 11, 2021 at the Bayou City Event Center. 

Click here to view sponsorship information and to register.

2021 Engineering Alumni Awards Gala Nominations

Nominations for the 2021 EAA Gala are closed. Information for 2022 nominations will be posted in November 2021. 

2021 Honorees

Lifetime Achievement Award

Charles D. Roxburgh, P.E. (BSPE ’62, MSPE '63)

Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award

Erick C. Jones (MSIE '96, Ph.D '03)

Distinguished Young Engineering Alumni Award

Vikrant Lakhanpal (MS PETR ’16)

Entrepreneur/Innovation Award

Carlos deAldecoa Bueno (BSIE '97)


Frank J. "Fritz" Claydon (Ph.D) (Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering)


Haleh Ardebili (Ph.D. ’01)

2020 Engineering Alumni Award Sponsors

We would like to thank all of those that sponsored the 2020 Engineering Alumni Association Awards Gala. Without our sponsors, we would be unable to host such an incredible event. Thank you for your continued support!

Platinum Sponsors

Mackrena & Michael Ramos
CenterPoint Energy
Lockwood, Andrews & Newman, Inc.
PRD Land Development Services, LLC
Cynthia Oliver Coleman, P.E.
Rani & Ram Seetharam
Jim L. Culpepper & Associates, P.C., Attorneys at Law
Adamek Engineering and Technology Solutions LLC
Nancy Currie-Gregg & Tim Gregg

Gold Sponsors

Dennis & Eliza Paul
Steve & Lisa Simmons
Dr. Vemuri Balakotaiah
Nathan & Carol Schmidt
Nurtured by Design

Silver Sponsors

Michael & Mary Jo Piwetz
Emily D. Ammons
Douglas Emery
Ahmad Shaheed
Dr. Kathy Zerda
Chris Egan
Michael D. Lacy
PERC Engineering
Tom Sofka
2011 Mechanical Engineering
Dean C. Rietz, P.E.
Alan Goodrum
Wayne Mausbach
Andrea & Leopoldine Prosperetti