Photos: 2019 Industrial Engineering Alumni Banquet
June 26, 2019
Inez Hutchinson

On April 25, the UH Cullen College’s industrial engineering (IE) department hosted its annual Honors and Awards Banquet at UH Hilton- Waldorf Astoria Ballroom.

The formal affair brought together IE students, alumni, faculty and staff to celebrate the outstanding achievements made by students with scholarships and awards. 

Department chair, Gino Lim, welcomed guests with opening remarks and provided department updates. UH Board of Regents member, Durga D. Agrawal (M.S. ’69, Ph.D. ’74), served as keynote speaker for the evening.

The event also recognized outstanding staff and faculty members in the department.

John Vasek, UH Institute of Industrial Engineers student chapter treasurer, recognized instructional associate professor Tae woo Lee with the Outstanding Teacher Award.

Instructional Assistant professor Dr. Yaping Wang introduced IE student chapter officers and introduced the new 2019-2020 officers for UH’s Institute of Industrial Engineers student chapter.

The event was sponsored by Cintas, Tenaris and the UH Cullen College of Engineering.

To view photos, click here

Meet the 2018-2019 Honorees

Brij & Sunita Agrawal Scholarship

  • Poria Dorali
  • David Luo
  • Shengbin Wang

Dr. Ben Amaba Scholarship

  • Tue Tran

Durga & Sushila Agrawal Scholarship

  • Navid Ahmadian
  • Ayda Darvishan
  • Saba Ebrahimi
  • Chunhui Ji
  • Sachin Kathiriya
  • Dan Qiao
  • Vishal Sachdeva
  • Harsh Shah
  • Andrew Smith
  • Maryam Torabbeigi

George & MyraJane Hall in IE Scholarship

  • Rosangel Limongi Cifelli

Prem Dewan Scholarship

  • Anishkumar Patel

PVF Roundtable Scholarship

  • Celine Gebara 
  • Layal Hajou
  • Karla Grimas Teira

Sam Scharff Scholarship

  • Michele George 
  • Christian Grant
  • Shalini Lakshmi

Shoaleh Shirvani Nosrati & Asghar Nosrati Endowed Scholarship

  • Zahed Shahmoradi

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant- Award Finalists  

  • Poria Dorali  
  • Amanda Khem 
  • Navid Ahmadian 
  • Zahed Shahmoradi

Outstanding Teacher Award 

  • Dr. Tae woo Lee

Share this Story: