University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering


UH Engineering Faculty Honored with University Teaching and Research Awards


Audrey Grayson

Two Cullen College professors have been recognized by the University of Houston for their excellence in teaching and research as part of the University-wide teaching and research awards given each spring.

Karolos Grigoriadis, David Zimmerman professor of mechanical engineering and associate director of the aerospace engineering program at the Cullen College, received the John and Rebecca Moores Professorship from the University. The five-year, renewable professorship is awarded to faculty in recognition of outstanding teaching, research and service. This latest award comes only two years after Grigoriadis earned both the Fluor Corporation Faculty Excellence award, the highest honor given by the Cullen College, as well as the W.T. Kittinger Teaching Excellence Award, the College’s most prestigious teaching honor.

Fritz Claydon, professor of electrical and computer engineering and director of the division of student success at the Cullen College, received the Undergraduate Mentoring Research Award. Claydon is an active supporter of many of the college’s ongoing National Science Foundation (NSF) STEM outreach efforts, including GRADE Camp, STEP Forward Camp, and the GK-12 Program. Claydon also serves as program manager for both the NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) program and the NSF Research Experience for Teachers (RET) program, and is a co-director of the Honors Engineering Program at UH.

For the full list of university teaching and research excellence award winners, click here.