University of Houston Receives IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing


Audrey Grayson

University of Houston Receives IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing
Award Marks Site of 1987 Discovery of High Temperature Superconductivity

On November 17, the University of Houston will receive an IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Milestone Award in Electrical Engineering and Computing as the site of the discovery of high temperature superconductivity (above 77 K). 

In 1987, UH physicist Paul Chu and his colleagues found that yttrium-barium-copper-oxide exhibits superconductivity at temperatures above the boiling point of liquid nitrogen. This breakthrough discovery “ushered in an era of accelerated superconductor materials science and engineering research worldwide, and led to advanced applications of superconductivity in energy, medicine, communications and transportation,” according to the plaque awarded to UH on behalf of the IEEE Milestones program.

The IEEE Milestones in Electrical Engineering and Computing program honors significant technical achievements in all areas associated with IEEE. Milestones recognize the technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity found in unique products, services, seminal papers and patents. The award to UH is coordinated by the IEEE Houston Section and the IEEE Council on Superconductivity.

The program was established in 1983, and to date, just over 100 Milestones have been named around the world.

Dedication events for UH’s IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing will be held on Monday, Nov. 17 at the UH Hilton. The event features IEEE Milestone community lectures from 10 a.m. until noon, a tribute luncheon for IEEE officials and invited guests, and a plaque dedication ceremony from 2- 3 p.m.

The ceremony will kick off with the IEEE Community Lecture consisting of several presentations under the theme of “Superconductivity Above 77 K in Y-123: History and Applications.” Dr. J. Roberto de Marca, president and CEO of IEEE, will open the event. Paul Chu, professor of physics and chief scientist/founding director of the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston (TcSUH), will present “High Temperature Cuprate Superconductors: A History.” Chu was the 1988 National Medal of Science recipient.

Additional speakers include 2003 Nobel Prize winner Sir Anthony J. Leggett, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, who will present “The Physics of High Temperature Superconductors,” and Alan Lauder, executive director of the Coalition for the Commercial Application of Superconductors and president of Alan Lauder, Inc., who will address “Current and Future Applications of High Temperature Superconductors."

UH faculty and students are welcome to attend the special lectures and dedication, and are asked to RSVP to jlboulav [at] Box lunches will be available on a first-come reservation basis.

The IEEE Milestone plaque will be permanently located in the lobby of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics’ Science and Research Building 1. The discovery occurred in a lab on the 4th floor.

For more information on the UH IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing Dedication Ceremony, please click here.

Department/Academic Programs: 



Related News Stories

UH, HCC partnering on Engineering Academy at Fraga campus

An exterior shot of the flags flying at the Houston Community College's Fraga Campus. The University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering and HCC will be partnering to create an Engineering Academy on the campus.

The University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering and Houston Community College have reached an agreement to offer UH Engineering Academy courses at the HCC Felix Fraga Academic Campus on the east side of Houston on Navigation Boulevard.

UH’s Bannova designing moon rovers, habitats

Images of a 3D rover model, provided by Dr. Olga Bannova, a research professor in the Cullen College of Engineering's Mechanical Engineering Department and the director of the Space Architecture Graduate Program.

Thanks to a $50,000 grant from Boeing for a six-month lunar surface systems study, a researcher and her team at the University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering are designing potential rovers and habitats for usage on the Moon.  

5 Cullen College students honored by ASIE

Ankur Agrawal.

The American Society of Indian Engineers and Architects (ASIE) has awarded five scholarships for 2020 to students attending the University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering. Each student received a monetary award, ranging from $1,000 to $2,000, to further their studies.

ASIE Scholarship Winners 2020

Upcoming Events / Seminars