University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering


Dean Announces 2003 Faculty Awards for Teaching, Research

Dean Raymond Flumerfelt announced the winners of this year's faculty teaching and research awards at the UH Cullen College of Engineering's annual Faculty and Staff Meeting on April 22.

Karolos Grigoriadis claimed the W. T. Kittenger Teaching Excellence Award. Grigoriadis is the Bill D. Cook Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering. The Career Teaching Award went to Betty Barr, who was also promoted to associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Winners of the Cullen College of Engineering Outstanding Teaching Awards include Richard Bannerot, professor of mechanical engineering; Demetre Economou, John and Rebecca Moores Professor of chemical engineering; Reagan Herman, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering; and David Jackson, professor of electrical and computer engineering.

Winners of the Cullen College of Engineering Outstanding Lecturer Awards are Tom Chen from industrial engineering and David Murphy from chemical engineering. The Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award went to Chidiogo Madubike in electrical and computer engineering.

Haluk Ogmen claimed the Cullen College of Engineering Senior Faculty Research Award. Ogmen is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Shankar Chellam claimed the Cullen College of Engineering Junior Faculty Research Award. Chellam is an assistant professor of Chemical Engineering and Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Dennis Clifford claimed the Fluor-Daniel Faculty Excellence Award. Clifford is a professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Keh-Han Wang, civil and environmental engineering; Nicolaos Karayiannis, electrical and computer engineering; C. Richard Liu, electrical and computer engineering; Jeffrey T. Williams, electrical and computer engineering; were promoted to full professor.

UH award recipients that we recognized were Osman Ghazzaly and David Shattuck, who both claimed the El Paso Energy Corporation Faculty Achievement Award, and Vemuri Balakotaiah and Karolos Grigoriadis, who both claimed the Excellence in Research and Scholarship Award.



Related News Stories

Chemicals Giant INEOS To Visit With UH Engineering Students

At the University of Houston, the Tau Beta Pi -Texas Epsilon Chapter (TX-E) was established in 1962.

The UH chapter of Tau Beta Pi – Texas Epsilon (TBP) is hosting an information session with representatives of INEOS, the fourth largest global chemicals company, on Wednesday, February 27, in the Science and Research Building 1 on campus. The presenters will be Bob Sokol, chief financial officer of INEOS Oligomers and Oxide, and Fred Rulander, chief operating officer of INEOS Oxide North America.