Engineering Professor Named to the Texas Council on Environmental Technology

Dr. Debbie Roberts, UH associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, has been named by Governor Rick Perry to a new group called the Texas Council on Environmental Technology. The Council, which will assist in developing solutions to air, water and waste problems, includes ten individuals from the academic community.

Members, with terms of appointment in parentheses, are as follows:

  • Dr. David Allen of Austin, professor at the University of Texas in the Center for Energy and Environmental Resources in the chemical engineering department (Feb. 1, 2007)
  • Billie Hugh Bonner, Jr. of Fairfield, environmental consultant/regional environmental manager for The Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), a non-profit energy research consortium (February 1, 2007)
  • Dr. Randall Charbeneau of Austin, civil engineering professor and associate dean for research at the University of Texas at Austin (Feb. 1, 2003)
  • Dr. Purnendu Dasgupta of Lubbock, Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of chemistry and biochemistry at Texas Tech University (Feb. 1, 2005)
  • Dr. Richard Ewing of College Station, vice president for research, and a distinguished professor and higher education administrator at Texas A&M University (Feb. 1, 2007)
  • Dr. Kuruvilla John of Corpus Christi, associate professor at Texas A&M University-Kingsville in the department of environmental engineering (Feb. 1, 2005)
  • Dr. Deborah Roberts of League City, associate professor and researcher at the University of Houston's department of civil and environmental engineering (Feb. 1, 2003)
  • Dr. Richard Tock of Lubbock, chemical engineering professor at Texas Tech University (Feb. 1, 2003)
  • Dr. Arthur Vailas of Houston, vice chancellor for research and intellectual property management and vice president for research at the University of Houston system (Feb. 1, 2005)
  • Dr. Mark Wiesner of Houston, professor at Rice University in the departments of chemical, civil and environmental engineering (Feb. 1, 2007)
  • Dr. Kyriacos Zygourakis of Houston, Arthur J. Hartsook Chair of chemical engineering and bioengineering at Rice University (Feb. 1, 2005)


Related News Stories

Class of 2020 honored with virtual graduation celebration

Michelle Gale.

The fortitude of the Cullen College of Engineering's Class of 2020 was proudly celebrated by the university community on May 7, with a 90-minute virtual graduation celebration, featuring remarks from University of Houston leadership, a commencement speaker and most importantly, the graduating students.

Lee receives grant for South Korean water, satellite project

Dr. Hyongki Lee, an associate professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the Cullen College of Engineering, has been awarded a grant from the K-Water Institute of South Korea to study flood monitoring and management in that country, via the development of algorithms for satellite data.

Upcoming Events / Seminars