Mechanical Engineering

Engineering Student is Gunning for Gold

One of the fiercest fighting martial artists in the world sits in an office in the UH Cullen College of Engineering. Sandy Geffert (2001 BSME) is a UH honors graduate, a first-year graduate student and the undergraduate student advisor for the Department of Mechanical Engineering. She is also a highly decorated world-class karate champion. Click here to read more.

Former Dean to Retire from Faculty

Roger Eichhorn, Dean 1982-1996, Professor 1982-2002

Former Dean Roger Eichhorn is retiring from the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering faculty in August, leaving behind a legacy of academic and administrative achievement--and many devoted friends and colleagues.

Under Eichhorn's leadership, the college raised student admissions standards, elevated the quality of the faculty, and greatly expanded the college's public identity and community presence.

Engineer One of Four to be Awarded UH Honorary Degrees

John H. Lienhard, M.D. Anderson Professor of Mechanical Engineering and History, Emeritus, is one of four individuals to receive an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters during UH's May 11 commencement ceremony. Lienhard has gained international visibility as the writer and voice of the syndicated public radio program, The Engines of Our Ingenuity, produced by KUHF-FM. The program is carried by more than 20 public radio stations in the U.S. and aired internationally by the U.S.

Professors Dalton, Wheeler to Be Honored by ASME South Texas Section

Charles Dalton, Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Professors Charles Dalton and Lewis Wheeler will be honored this week by the South Texas Section of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Professor Dalton will receive the 2002 Dean W.R. Woolrich Award, recognizing him as the South Texas Section Engineer of the Year. Wheeler, interim chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineer, will be named the 2002 Dean Claude L. Wilson Award for lifetime achievements of an outstanding Engineering Educator.

Looking for the Engineers

UH mechanical engineering professor John Lienhard's nation-wide radio show 'Engines of Our Ingenuity' recently explored the value of an engineering degree. "People who see the world with an engineer's eye are typically able to move in many directions."

El Paso Energy Honors UH Faculty

Dr. Keith Hollingsworth, Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Devotion to students and excellent teaching evaluations are some of the reasons Keith Hollingsworth, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the UH Cullen College of Engineering, is receiving the El Paso Energy Teaching Excellence Award in Engineering.

Engineers honor Fazle Hussain and other UH members of the National Academy of Engineering

Dean Raymond Flumerfelt, UH President Arthur & June Smith, Benton Baugh, Fazle & Rehana Hussain, James & Joan Symons, John Lienhard (who provided narratives that night on each NAE member from UH), and Amalia & Dan Luss.

The University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering paid tribute to its faculty and alumni who are members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) at a special dinner on May 2, 2001 at the UH Hilton.

Fazle Hussain, UH Cullen Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering, is the latest UH engineering faculty member to be elected to NAE. He joins a handful of other UH professors and alumni who have received this professional honor.

Students Face Challenge Of Recording Experiment In Zero-G Flights

A team of students from the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering got a chance to make their mark on technology that could be used aboard the International Space Station or during a Mars mission as they conducted zero-gravity experiments in NASA’s so-called “Vomit Comet” on March 1-2, 2001.

Pursuit of order in disorder earns professor election to NAE

More than three decades of research into understanding turbulence and developing methods for controlling and harnessing its potential earned Fazle Hussain, the UH Cullen Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering, election to his profession's elite group—the (NAE).