UH Engineering Welcomes Four New National Academy of Engineering Faculty

The UH Cullen College of Engineering welcomes four National Academy of Engineering members to its faculty roster in the 2016- 2017 academic year, bringing the total number of NAE faculty members at the college to 13.

The latest additions to UH Engineering’s impressive faculty roster represent fields and research areas tailor-made for the Houston region, including healthcare, energy, aerospace and infrastructure.


Biomedical Engineering

Jerome Schultz

Member of the National Academy of Engineering Jerome Schultz joins UH in the spring of 2017 as a Distinguished Professor of biomedical engineering. His career spans five decades of research, teaching, awards, publishing and patents. He has been awarded more than $32.3M in research contracts and grants during his prestigious career.

Founding chairman of the department of bioengineering at the University of California, Riverside, Schultz’s experience is unmatched. His research interests include biosensors, facilitated diffusion in membranes, restricted diffusion in membranes, transport processes in tissues, pharmacokinetics, immobilized enzymes and bioimaging. Schultz’s research has been published in nearly 130 peer-reviewed articles.

Schultz received his Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin in 1958 and earned both his M.S. and B.S. in chemical engineering from Columbia University in 1956 and 1954, respectively.


Electrical & Computer Engineering

Kaushik Rajashekara

Member of the National Academy of Engineering, Kaushik Rajashekara joins the Cullen College as a Distinguished Professor of electrical and computer engineering. He became an NAE member for contributions to electric power conversion systems in transportation in 2012. Rajashekara is the first NAE member to join the electrical and computer engineering department at UH.

A fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and of the U.S. National Academy of Inventors, Rajashekara comes to Houston from the University of Texas at Dallas where he served as Distinguished Professor and Endowed Chair in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Erik Jonssen School of Engineering and Computer Science.

From 1989 to 2006, Rajashekara was technical fellow and chief scientist for advanced energy systems at Delphi Corporation/General Motors, where he provided a vision for future technology in the area of propulsion and power conversion systems for electric, hybrid, fuel cell vehicles and alternative fuel vehicles.

In 1984, Rajashekara received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, India and, in 1992, he completed a master’s of business administration from Indiana Wesleyan University in Indianapolis.


Mechanical Engineering

Andrea Prosperetti

Andrea Prosperetti becomes a Distinguished Professor of mechanical engineering at the Cullen College. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering for his work involving fluid mechanics, specifically multiphase flows.

In 2003, the American Physical Society honored him with the highest award in his field, the Fluid Dynamics Prize. Since 2008, he has served as editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Multiphase Flow and serves on the editorial board of the Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics.

Prosperetti comes from Johns Hopkins University, where he is the Charles A. Miller Jr. Professor of mechanical engineering. He also serves part time as the Gerrit Berkhoff Professor of applied physics at the University of Twente in The Netherlands.

He earned an M.S. in 1972 and a Ph.D. in engineering science in 1974 from the California Institute of Technology.

He is the single author of approximately 40 papers and co-author of over 160 others.


Petroleum Engineering

Ganesh Thakur

National Academy of Engineering member Ganesh Thakur joins the Cullen College as a Distinguished Professor of petroleum engineering.

Thakur is recognized globally as a leader in reservoir engineering and water flood management and has written several Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) publications on the topic. He also has an impressive list of publications and teaching engagements conducted around the world.

During a career with Chevron that spanned four decades, Thakur served in various roles including vice president and global advisor and Chevron Fellow. He also served as the SPE President in 2012.

He earned his Ph.D. in petroleum and natural gas engineering from Pennsylvania State University in 1973 after receiving his M.S. in mathematics there one year earlier. He also holds a 1980 master’s of business administration from Houston Baptist University.


Department/Academic Programs: 

Related News Stories

23 honored with 2020-21 Faculty and Student Excellence Awards

The W.T. Kittinger Teaching Excellence Award is traditionally the highest teaching award given in the College. It recognizes outstanding teaching and service to students. This year's recipient is Di Yang of Mechanical Engineering.

The Cullen College of Engineering at the University of Houston and Dr. Joseph W. Tedesco, Ph.D., P.E., the Elizabeth D. Rockwell Endowed Chair and Dean, are pleased to share the 2020-21 Faculty and Student Excellence Award winners.

The initial announcement was made during the virtual Spring 2021 State of the College Address on May 4.

21 Cullen College students receive SURF opportunities

A group of 21 students from the Cullen College of Engineering have been selected for the University of Houston's Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships.

The Cullen College of Engineering is proud to announce that 21 undergraduate students have been selected for the University of Houston's Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), according to the Honors College.

UH, HCC partnering on Engineering Academy at Fraga campus

An exterior shot of the flags flying at the Houston Community College's Fraga Campus. The University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering and HCC will be partnering to create an Engineering Academy on the campus.

The University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering and Houston Community College have reached an agreement to offer UH Engineering Academy courses at the HCC Felix Fraga Academic Campus on the east side of Houston on Navigation Boulevard.

Upcoming Events / Seminars