University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering


PHOTOS: 2015 Civil & Environmental Engineering Gala & Induction Ceremony


Natalie Thayer

The Academy of Distinguished Civil and Environmental Engineers (Academy) held its annual Gala and Induction Ceremony on September 10th at the Hess Club. The Academy is dedicated to recognizing outstanding alumni who bring honor to the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) department at the University of Houston and have sustained distinguished contributions to the profession, field, university, or society at large.

Joseph W. Tedesco, dean of the Cullen College of Engineering, provided opening remarks for the evening. Other speakers included Roberto Ballarini, Thomas and Laura Hsu Professor and civil and environmental chair, and alumnus Joe Zimmerman, P.E. In addition to inducting two distinguished alumni members into the Academy, student scholarships and faculty and staff awards were also presented during the event. 

To see photos from the gala, click here.

The inductees, honorees and scholarship recipients at the 2015 Gala and Induction Ceremony included:

  • Inductee – Delvin Dennis, P.E. (BSCE ’80)
  • Inductee – Dale A. Rudrick, P.E. (BSCE ’91)
  • Faculty Achievement Award – Hyongki Lee, assistant professor UH NCALM
  • Staff Achievement Award – Lupe Monoz, advising assistant II
  • Outstanding Senior Award – Rodolfo Mendoza Garana
  • Outstanding Junior Award – William Arsola
  • Houston Chapter of the American Concrete Institute Scholarship Recipient – Susana Nguyen
  • BGW/Ronald L. Mullinax Endowment Recipient – Oscar Serna
  • Charles L. Tamborello Memorial Scholarship Recipient – William Arsola
  • Cobb/Fendley Endowment Scholarship Recipient – Youssaira Belmokadem
  • DFI Educational Trust Charles J. Berkel Memorial Scholarship Recipients – Bilab Ghandour, David Ibague Gil, Sara Karouni, Rodolfo Mendoza Garana and Aisulu Saliyeva
  • Herbert and Faye Lum Scholarship Recipient – Sujata Gautam
  • The Jesse G. Gonzalez Scholarship Recipient – Walter Mata
  • Jimmie A. Schindewolf Academic Scholarship Recipients – Rick Harenberg, Joel Huber, Mengyang Jiang, Robyn Lancaster and Anna Milani Brunga
  • M.P. “Pat” Anderson Memorial Scholarship Recipient – Matthew Gill
  • Klotz Associates, Inc. Scholarship Recipients – Anam Soomra, Trevor Walker, Christopher Wiggs and Basil Zibdawi
  • R.P. Doss Houston Contractors Association Scholarship Recipient – Felix Vergara Macias



Related News Stories

Chemicals Giant INEOS To Visit With UH Engineering Students

At the University of Houston, the Tau Beta Pi -Texas Epsilon Chapter (TX-E) was established in 1962.

The UH chapter of Tau Beta Pi – Texas Epsilon (TBP) is hosting an information session with representatives of INEOS, Europe’s largest petrochemical company, on Wednesday, February 27, in the Science and Research Building 1 on campus. The presenters will be Bob Sokol, chief financial officer of INEOS Oligomers and Oxide, and Fred Rulander, chief operating officer of INEOS Oxide North America.

Cullen College Alumna Scores Prestigious Chinese Government Award

Chong Dai (Ph.D. '18) won a 2019 Chinese Government Award for Self-financed Students Abroad.

Chong Dai, who earned a Ph.D. in environmental engineering from the UH Cullen College of Engineering, was awarded a 2019 Chinese Government Award for Self-financed Students Abroad.

Given by the China Scholarship Council, this competitive award is presented to only 500 students worldwide each year. She will receive a $6,000 cash prize and a certificate.