Faculty Members Honored with Cullen College Teaching and Research Excellence Awards
May 5, 2015
Audrey Grayson

At this month’s Cullen College of Engineering faculty and staff meeting, Dean Joseph Tedesco announced the recipients of the 2014–2015 faculty excellence awards, which recognize faculty members for their outstanding performance in teaching, research and service.

The Fluor Corporation Faculty Excellence award, the college’s highest honor, was awarded to Venkat Selvamanickam, M.D. Anderson Chair Professor of mechanical engineering. The college’s most prestigious teaching award, the W.T. Kittinger Teaching Excellence Award, was given to Mina Dawood, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering.

E. Joe Charlson, professor of electrical and computer engineering, also received the college’s Career Teaching Award.

A total of two outstanding staff service awards are granted annually. Since staff service awards were not given last year, four staff service awards were given this year. Nyisha Hamilton, department business administrator for biomedical engineering, and April Blount, department business administrator for mechancial engineering, received the senior-level staff service awards for over 10 years of outstanding service. My-Dung Lieu, department business administrator in chemical engineering, and Anne Sturm, advisor in petroleum engineering, received junior-level staff service awards for 10 years or less of outstanding service to the college.

The college also announced two winners of the 2014-2015 best dissertation awards: Ji Qi (fall 2014) and Mehmet Agaoglu (spring 2015), both electrical and computer engineering graduate students.

See the full list of Cullen College faculty award recipients below.

College Awards
Venkat Selvamanickam (ME)
Fluor Corporation Faculty Excellence Award
Mina Dawood (CEE)
W.T. Kittinger Teaching Excellence Award
E. Joe Charlson (ECE)
Career Teaching Award
Teaching Excellence Awards
Kalyana Nakshatrala (CEE)
Jeffrey Rimer (ChBE)
John Lee (PETR)
Anastassios Mavrokefalos (ME)
Christiana Chang (Lecturer) (ME) Gulin Aksu (Lecturer) (ECE) Thomas Chen (Lecturer) (IE)  
Christopher Ortega (TA) (ME) Khalid Kayal (TA) (IE) Maria Vorontsova (TA) (ChBE)  
Research Excellence Awards
Gangbing Song (ME)
Senior Faculty Research Award
Wei-Chuan Shih (ECE)
Junior Faculty Research Award
Lars Grabow (ChBE)
Junior Faculty Research Award


Share this Story: