ASCE Honors Professor Song for Aerospace Service


Toby Weber

Cullen College Professor of Mechanical Engineering Gangbing Song has been named the recipient of the 2012 Outstanding Professional Service Award from the Aerospace Division of the American Society of Civil Engineers.

The award is intended to honor an individual who has improved the conditions under which civil engineers “advance aerospace sciences and technology and space exploration and construction.”

Song’s contributions in this arena revolve primarily around his work as an organizer of the Aerospace Division’s biennial Earth and Space Conference. He organized conference sessions in 2002 and 2004, symposiums in 2006 and 2008, and served as general chair of the conference in 2010. He is also head of the division’s dynamics and control committee.

Song will receive the award at the Earth and Space 2012 Conference, set to take place in Pasadena, Calif., in April.

This is the second time Song has been honored by the Aerospace Division in recent years. In 2007, he received the division’s Outstanding Technical Contributions Award in recognition of his work on vibration control and correction of thermal deformation for aerospace structures, such as satellites that utilize solar panels and antennas.

“I’ve benefitted greatly from my involvement in the ASCE Aerospace Division. I’m glad to be able to give back to the division through my involvement in the conference and the dynamics and controls committee and am honored that the division has chosen to recognize my contributions,” said Song.


Department/Academic Programs: 

Related News Stories

Non-Invasive Eye-Movement Sensors Developed by UH's Ryou

Jae-Hyun Ryou, Ph.D., an Associate Professor of the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering, is the lead author for a new research article describing eye-movement sensors that can record data by less obstructive methods than previously thought.

23 honored with 2020-21 Faculty and Student Excellence Awards

The W.T. Kittinger Teaching Excellence Award is traditionally the highest teaching award given in the College. It recognizes outstanding teaching and service to students. This year's recipient is Di Yang of Mechanical Engineering.

The Cullen College of Engineering at the University of Houston and Dr. Joseph W. Tedesco, Ph.D., P.E., the Elizabeth D. Rockwell Endowed Chair and Dean, are pleased to share the 2020-21 Faculty and Student Excellence Award winners.

The initial announcement was made during the virtual Spring 2021 State of the College Address on May 4.

21 Cullen College students receive SURF opportunities

A group of 21 students from the Cullen College of Engineering have been selected for the University of Houston's Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships.

The Cullen College of Engineering is proud to announce that 21 undergraduate students have been selected for the University of Houston's Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), according to the Honors College.

Upcoming Events / Seminars