Cullen College Honors National Academy of Engineering Members
October 10, 2012
Esmeralda Fisher

Faculty, staff, and colleagues of the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering gathered last week to honor fourteen members of the National Academy of Engineering.

UH President Renu Khator and Cullen College of Engineering Dean Joseph W. Tedesco recognized the distinguished group who represent the Cullen College of Engineering at the Wall of Fame Dedication Ceremony. The wall of fame is located in the Engineering Building.

The NAE members were celebrated for their significant impact on engineering research, education and the profession. More importantly, each NAE member serves as a role model for the next generation of engineering students and faculty, challenging, encouraging and enlightening newcomers to the dynamic world of 21st-century engineering.

"National Academy membership is one of the highest honors you can earn in the profession," said Dean Tedesco. "The membership is extremely exclusive and is reserved for only those individuals who have charted a path of their own and became trailblazers in new discovery, methods, applications; who have used their talents to mentor students, other faculty, their own workforce; and who have given back in many more ways than one to make sure engineering is a field that we continue to promote to stay technologically strong as we advance into the future."

Beyond the members’ eminence in the engineering realm, NAE and UH affiliations significantly impact measures of research institution growth and success, a major factor in the top tier public research institution designation.

The honorees included Neal R. Amundson, Ph.D. (posthumous); Benton Baugh, Ph.D.; Charles Cutler, Ph.D.; Abraham Dukler, Ph.D. (posthumous); Bonnie Dunbar, Ph.D.; Fazle Hussain, Ph.D.; John Lee, Ph.D.; John Lienhard, Ph.D.; Dan Luss, Ph.D.; Michael Pao, Ph.D.; Allen Rhodes, Ph.D. (posthumous); James Symons, Ph.D.; Anestis S. Veletsos, Ph.D.; and Kaspar Willam, Ph.D. 

Share this Story: