Engineering Alumni Association Announces 2005 Recipients of the Distinguished Engineering Awards


Angie Shortt

Benton Baugh (1967 BSME) and Steven Simmons (1981 BSCE) will receive the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award at the 2005 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Awards Dinner on Friday, June 3 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Downtown Houston. Eray Aydil (1991 PhD ChE) will receive the Distinguished Young Engineering Alumna Award and Cheryl Thompson-Draper will receive the Roger Eichhorn Leadership Service Award. Electrical and computer engineering professor Betty Barr will receive the Abraham E. Dukler Distinguished Engineering Faculty Award.

Since 1987 the Engineering Alumni Association has recognized alumni, faculty and friends of the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering for significant contributions to society and the profession.

Click here to view previous award recipients from each category.

2005 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Awards Recipients

Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Award

Benton F. Baugh
Radoil, Inc.

Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Award

Steven E. Simmons
Deputy Executive Director
Texas Department of Transportation

Distinguished Young Engineering Alumnus Award

Eray S. Aydil
University of Minnesota, Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

Roger Eichhorn Leadership Service Award

Cheryl Thompson-Draper
Port of Houston Authority

Abraham E. Dukler Distinguished Engineering Faculty Award

Betty J. Barr
Associate Professor
UH Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering