University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering


Cullen College Faculty Awarded by University


Melanie Ziems

Each spring, the University of Houston recognizes exceptional faculty member across the university at the annual UH Faculty Excellence Awards Ceremony. This year, nine Cullen College of Engineering faculty members were honored for their great strides in teaching and research excellence.

Two Cullen College professors also received the highest honors awarded at UH. Dmitri Litvinov from Electrical and Computer Engineering received the Esther Farfel Award, and Gangbing Song from Mechanical Engineering received the John and Rebecca Moores Professorship. Learn more about these prestigious awards here and here.


Teaching Excellence

The Teaching Excellence Awards are presented to faculty members who shine in the classroom and take their lesson plans above and beyond the national standards. The award winners can be nominated by faculty and students alike. The following professors received Teaching Excellence Awards for their achievements in the 2013-2014 academic year.

Mo Li Diana de la Rosa-Pohl UH
Mo Li (CEE)
Teaching Excellence
Diana de la Rosa-Pohl (ECE)
Teaching Excellence (Instructor/Clinical)
Jiabiao Ruan (ME)
Teaching Excellence (Graduate Teaching Assistance)
Pradeep Sharma Hanadi Rifai Fritz Claydon Fritz Claydon UH
Pradeep Sharma (ME)
Teaching Excellence (Group Teaching)
Hanadi Rifai (CEE)
Teaching Excellence (Group Teaching)
Fritz Claydon (ECE)
Teaching Excellence (Group Teaching)
Stuart Long (ECE)
Teaching Excellence (Group Teaching)
Eugene Chiappetta (College of Education)
Teaching Excellence (Group Teaching)


Research Excellence

Three Cullen College professors also received Excellence in Research and Scholarship Awards for their research endeavors and scholarship achievements. The following professors received Research and Scholarship Awards for the 2013-2014 academic year.

Jeff Rimer Ramanan Krishnamoorti Venkat Selvamanickam
Jeff Rimer (ChBE)
Research Excellence (Assistant Professor)
Ramanan Krishnamoorti (ChBE)
Research Excellence (Full Professor)
Venkat Selvamanickam (ME)
Research Excellence (Full Professor)




Related News Stories

Distinguished Alumnus, Bilfinger Executive to be UH Cullen College Fall 2018 Commencement Speaker

Terrance “Terri” Ivers, P.E. (BSME ’80) is the fall 2018 UH Cullen College of Engineering commencement speaker.

Terrance “Terri” Ivers, P.E. (BSME ’80), is coming home to the UH Cullen College of Engineering as the featured speaker at its commencement on Dec. 13 at the NRG Arena. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering from UH in 1980 and has remained involved in the Cullen College community throughout the course of his 37 year-long career.

Upcoming Events / Seminars